On Friday, December 7, a team of students, faculty, and friends was honored to present a Festschrift celebrating the remarkable careers of Junko Ito and Armin Mester, two of the world’s leading theoretical phonologists and one of the most enduring collaborative research teams in our field:

Festschrift editor Jaye Padgett writes:

It is impossible to do justice to the variety and depth of Armin and Junko’s work, or to adequately express our regard for them as colleagues and friends. But we hope this volume goes some way toward doing both.

The editors of the Festschrift are Ryan Bennett, Andrew Angeles, Adrian Brasoveanu, Dhyana Buckley, Nick Kalivoda, Shigeto Kawahara, Grant McGuire, Jaye Padgett.

Pictured from right to left: Grant McGuire, Adrian Brasoveanu, Armin Mester, Jaye Padgett, Junko Ito, Ryan Bennett, Andrew Angeles, and Nick Kalivoda.


Professor emerita Judith Aissen was recently chosen by the LSA to receive the Kenneth L. Hale Award, an honor that recognizes scholars for their phenomenal work in documenting an endangered language or language family. You can find more information about the award here. Congrats, Judith!